Beastly by Alex Flinn

Standard

Hello!

I apologize, for I haven’t written a post in a while. It’s always something. Vacations, laziness, late-night parties. Just kidding about that last one. I don’t do that kind of stuff.

So here’s a great, 7-pen book review for you today; Beastly.

The amazing book cover, which actually has a reference to a character's hobby!

The amazing book cover, which actually has a reference to a character’s hobby!

It all starts out in high school. Kyle Kingsbury is the most popular boy in school. He is perfect. Perfect looks, perfect life. All the girls want him. All the boys envy him. He has a newscaster as a father, which guarantees him money ( read: popularity). But the night of the school dance, when Kyle brings the wrong type of corsage, his date, Sloane, the prettiest girl in school, hates him for a stupid mistake. He ends up giving the corsage to a random girl, who takes it. He is turned into a hairy creature by a witch that night. His father tries to use his money to help, taking him to doctors to fix his condition, to no avail. Kyle Kingsbury, the boy everyone envied, turned into a beast, banished/ignored by his father to live in a huge mansion, with only the maid and his tutor to keep him company. The only way to change his curse is to love someone before

This is a great book that I really enjoyed reading. I always found myself reading it whenever I could! It was similar to Beauty and the Beast, one of my favorite fairy tales. Yet, it was nicely updated to fit the 21st century. One of the only things I would change about it is the ending. To me, it felt rushed, like the author had to fit in the ending under a certain page limit. Also, the author didn’t really lapse time well; the way they broke it up into sections was confusing. Read it, and see what I mean. I thought it would’ve been easier for me to comprehend the time lapse if there were small events in between the big ones, so it would flow nicer and not be so… “(A month before deadline) —> (deadline)”, if you know what I mean. Wow. That sounded more confusing than it is. Oh well.

Overall, a great book!

Rating: 7/10 Pens

Age Recommendation: 13+, for kissing and the occasional curse word

Thanks! I hope you like it!

-G

What I’m reading- Heist Society, by Ally Carter- review to come soon!

Leave a Reply

