15 Things To Do When You Have Writer’s Block

Standard

Hi everyone! Ash here. I know lots of you readers are writers, whether it be for a magazine (me!), a blog (also me!), or a unfinished novel (me! me! me!). I also have this great tidbit of information: absolutely everyone can get writer’s block. So, I decided to make a list to help all of you writers for when YOU get writers’ block!

15 Things To Do When You Have Writer’s Block

  1. Take a nap. When you wake up, reread your latest work and ask yourself what foreshadowing you may have unknowingly written in.
  2. Have a snack. Studies have shown that you concentrate better when you aren’t hungry.
  3. Read whatever it is that you’re writing OUT LOUD. Yes, I know it sounds humiliating. Yes, I know lots of you readers, including me, would never, ever want their work read out loud, let alone by yourself, the writer! But it has to be done. When you read your writing out loud, it helps you find and correct mistakes in your writing.
  4. Have a friend read your novel to you OUT LOUD. There it is again. Those dreaded words. Out. Loud. Again, it has to be done eventually.
  5. Have a bookish friend critique your work! This means that, of course, they must first read it. You can ask them to read it OUT LOUD if you want, but it isn’t needed. In fact, if I were to critique someone’s work, I’d rather read it silently.
  6. Go outside. Seriously. Just get a breath of fresh air.
  7. Reread a favorite book and pay careful attention to the author’s style. If you’re writing a novel or short story, look at the characters. How do they interact?
  8. If you’re writing a fiction novel, look at the rest of your work and ask yourself if everything is just going perfectly for the characters. If they’re street orphans, do they find food just like that? If they’re captured, do they get out just like that? If they’re sick, do they find medicine just like that? If so, revise your work and make sure your characters go through some hardships. Readers like being able to relate to characters.
  9. Assess and reassess your choice of descriptive words. Maybe instead of writing, “The man was loud,” you could write, “The man’s words seemed to bounce and echo off of every available space, gaining in volume and causing a ruckus.”
  10. Ask a writer friend of yours to tell you what they would write next if this was their story.
  11. Sleep on it. Not just a nap–wait an entire day before you even look at it.
  12. Go to a quiet place where you can concentrate more. Maybe you just have writers block because you feel crowded and overwhelmed by the noise!
  13. Brainstorm names for whatever it is you’re writing–novel, article, short story, etc.
  14. Go out with your camera (or your phone, which most likely has a camera) and take pictures of anything you think relates to your story. You may take a picture of a tree and think to yourself, Hey! Maybe, in my novel, my main character could find a magical genie lamp under this tree! (Then again, the whole genie thing is getting a little old.)
  15. Wait. I know you may think this is the worst advice ever, but when the above things don’t work, waiting is the only thing you can do. Ginger does this. I do this. Yes, even we have to wait for great ideas to pop into our heads sometimes.

Hope you like! (I mean, I hope you really like, because I had writers’ block while writing this, and I just had to wait. Which is possibly the most boring thing ever. Just in case you’re wondering.)

~ Ash

Leave a Reply

