Crewel by Gennifer Albin

Standard

I don’t know what to say about this book!
That’s a good thing, I guess, because I know that I might be in love with this book.
Crewel centers around a questionable world in which spinsters weave a huge cloth, containing the threads of life, or as I liked to call them, the “threads of humanity”.  The spinsters work their butts off, gifted with an extraordinary talent for weaving.  All 16 years of her life, Adelice Lewis has been taught to stay away from weaving, but when the time comes for her testing day, nothing can hold her back.  Adelice spins for the first time, is taken the next night, and her family is captured.  Her life hangs in shreds around her.  The poor girl has to deal with changes as they are thrown to her, leading up to a forbidden romance and the ultimate twist.

The most amazing rainbowey book cover in the universe

I would give this book 8/10 pens, the “good book” rating.  The plot line intrigued me, (I mean, seriously, a girl who weaves other people’s lives?) yet the writing was bland at parts.  I owuld recommend you read this book, as it is a great book and definitely worth reading again.

Rating: 8/10 pens

Age recommendation: 12+, for mature themes, such as death

-Ginger

What I’m reading: Bad Unicorn by Platte F. Clark

Leave a Reply

