Great App: Overdrive

Standard

Hi everyone! Ash here. If you follow our posts, you’ll know that Ginger and I have been sick, and so we’ve been reading–a lot. Ginger already had a bunch of books lined up, but I didn’t, and I didn’t want to buy a bunch of books. Luckily, this app saved me–Overdrive.

This is a great app that I have on my Nook (you can only get this on tablets that support apps, of course, like the Nook Tablet, which is what I have and love!). It’s even free! All you need is a library card to any supported library system–don’t worry, there are lots, and your local library system is probably supported–and you’re ready to go! Some books have holds on them, and I would definitely recommend looking around on BN.com for a book you want so that you can check if your system has it, but it’s much faster than connecting your e-reader to the computer and downloading a book. I’ve only done that a couple of times with my Nook, and it’s really annoying.
I’m so happy that I can get to the exact same library e-book section with only a tap of a finger! Of course, you’ve got to type in your library card and your password, but once that is done, you never have to do it again as long as, when you check out your first book, you check that handy little “remember password” box.

So if you’re sick, in need of something to read, or just plain bored, be sure to take a look at the free app Overdrive.
“Read and listen to eBooks & audiobooks from your library on the go or at home with OverDrive Media Console. The app is available for every major desktop and mobile platform, including Windows, Mac, iPad, iPhone, Android phones and tablets, Kindle, NOOK, Windows 8 PC and tablet, Blackberry and Windows Phone,” –Overdrive.com

To find more about Overdrive, go to http://www.overdrive.com, and to get the app you can either search in your app store or go to omc.overdrive.com.

Hope you like, and hope I get better! 😉

~ Ash

Leave a Reply

