Bliss by Kathryn Littlewood

Standard

Hi everyone! Ash here. Happy February 1st! P2P is starting a new way of rating books: In pencils! Five pencils rocks, four pencils is good, 3 pencils is okay, 2 pencils isn’t very good, 1 pencil sucks, and 0 pencils means the book is just a complete waste of time. The following book, Bliss, I’m giving 3 and 1/2 pencils.

      Have you read Bliss, by Kathryn Littlewood? No? Well, if you like young-adult fantasy-fiction stories about magical bakeries, this one’s for you. I’m not really one for baking, since I hate cleaning everything afterwards, but I still thought this book was pretty good! I probably wouldn’t have even stumbles upon it if I didn’t have a Nook, since Bliss was a Free Friday book.

The main character is a 12-year girl named Rosemary (Rose for short), and all she really wants to do is bake, so when her parents announce that they will be going away for the week, she’s excited that she’ll finally get the chance to use the magical Bliss Cookery Booke, which has secret recipes to bake magical goods like Singing Gingersnaps. Rose is disappointed when she finds out she has to keep the Booke under lock and key while her parents are away, but things get jazzed up when her “Aunt” Lily rides into town on a motorcycle and whips up exotic, yet delicious, dishes for dinner. Soon Rose and her brothers are dying to try their own magical recipes, so they copy a few out of the Bliss Cookery Booke. How much trouble could a few Love Muffins and Cookies of Truth cause, anyways?

Hope you like!

~ Ash

One response »

  1. I read this because I got it for free on my Kindle. I thought it was a good story to read aloud to people of all ages, and it was funny sometimes and overall a cute story (I feel really old when I say that, but it’s the only way I can think of to describe it >.<). Nothing spectacular, but interesting and good.

Leave a Reply

